Avocado Toasts

I picked up my Bon Appetit magazine from the mail the other day and an article caught my eye for the “toast of summer”. I mean, let’s admit it, anything with avocado and I’m game!

I made this appetizer the same night and it pretty much knocked my socks off. I may or may not have A.) eaten my weight in avocado and B.) not been able to eat dinner afterwards.

I picked up a 10 pack of small french loaves from Costco, which seemed perfect for appetizer portions:

I then cut them all lengthwise and turned on the grill. This may or may not have been the first time I have ever operated a grill on my own.

Brushing them with olive oil prevents sticking and makes sure you get a nice carmelized char on the bread

Once you have some nice pretty grill marks on your bread, take them off and take a cut clove of garlic and rub the cut side all over the hot slices of bread. Try not to drool…

You then want to use a super ripe avocado, one that mashes nicely.

Mash/spread it all over the slices of bread, very similar to spreading butter or cream cheese. Then, sprinkle everything with kosher salt and red pepper flakes, as well as a drizzle of olive oil.

This is the easiest appetizer I have ever made and it’s SO delicious. Bon Appetit! :)

25 thoughts on “Avocado Toasts

  1. I eat avocado toast for breakfast all the time (mashed avocado on toast w a sprinkle of salt) but this ups the ante! Can’t wait to make this…mmmmmmm-mmm

    • LOL, all i do is stick a regular kitchen knife in and roll the avocado around it in a circle, so that it slices around the circumference and then you grab both sides and twist, like you do to lick the cream from an oreo!

  2. I could eat avocado everyday and never get tired of it! This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing, I will try it soon.

Leave a Reply

